Home About Us

About BVDU

About BVDU

The University Grants Commission which is an apex body concerned with higher education in India made an assessment of the academic excellence achieved by the institutions of Bharati Vidyapeeth through a committee of experts and on the recommendation of the UGC, the Government of India accorded the status of “Deemed to be University” to twelve institutions of Bharati Vidyapeeth in Pune, on 26th April, 1996 vide their notification No. F-9-15/95-N.3. Later in July, 2000 the Government of India on the recommendations of University Grants Commission and the All India Council for Technical Education brought three more institutions within the ambit of Bharati Vidyapeeth University vide their notification No. F-9-15/95- I 4-3 dated 28th July, 2000, recently the University Grants Commission vide their Letter No.F. No 3-2/90 CPP-I dated 17th August, 2002, have brought the following two Research Institutes within the ambit of Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University.

Today, the following seventeen institutions together are the constituent units of Bharati Vidyapeeth University:

  • College of Engineering
  • Medical College
  • Dental College and Hospital
  • College of Ayurved
  • Homoeopathic Medical College
  • College of Nursing
  • Yashwantrao Mohite College of Arts, Science and Commerce
  • New Law College
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Institute of Social Science Studies and Research
  • Social Science Centre
  • Research and Development Centre in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Applied Chemistry
  • Institute of Environment Education and Research
  • Poona College of Pharmacy
  • Institute of Management and Entrepreneurship Development
  • College of Physical Education
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of and Information Technology
  • Interactive Research School for Health Affairs


This University has come into being as per the provisions in the Act of the University Grants Commission (Section 3 of the UGC Act of 1956) and by the notification of Government of India. It has the same legal status as that of other statutory universities in India. The degrees, diplomas and certificates awarded by it have the approval of the Government of India, Maharashtra and other States, as well as, the UGC and the AICTE. They are also approved and accepted by other statutory universities on reciprocal basis.

All the colleges of professional education Medical, Dental, Nursing, Ayurved, Laws, Engineering etc. and the degrees awarded by them have recognition and approval of their respective statutory councils, such as Medical Council of India, Dental Council of India,Indian Nursing Council, Bar Council of India, All India Council for Technical Education etc. The Bharti Vidyapeeth UNIVERSITY has been admitted by the Association of Indian Universities as its permanent member. The university is also a member of Association of Commonwealth universities.

Distinctive Features

This is probably the only UNIVERSITY in the country having under its umbrella, institutions of such diversified professional and non-professional disciplines as Medicine, Dentistry, Homoeopathy, Ayurved, Pharmacy, Engineering, Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, Social Work etc.

The academic and functional autonomy that the university enjoys has empowered it to be more dynamic and innovative. The syllabi and course structures of most of the then existing courses are revised every two years. A number of new innovative degree, diploma and certificate programmes have been introduced. Restructuring of its academic programmes and modifications in the evaluation system have been brought about with a view to tune them to the changing needs of the society.
Bharati Vidyapeeth University is one of the few universities in India that have five different colleges of the medical science disciplines, viz. Allopathic Medicine, Dentistry, Ayurved, Homoeopathy and Nursing; all in one campus. The university offers a wide variety of academic programmes to students to choose from. The university gives special attention to research activities. It has created the following three institutions exclusively for Research.

  • Interactive Research School for Health Affairs.
  • Yashwantrao Chavan Institute of Social Studies and Research.
  • Research & Development Centre in Pharmaceutical Sciences and Applied Chemistry.

This university, being unicampus and small in size, its administration is student oriented with no unending queues and long delays.

City Of Pune

Pune, the historical and cultural capital of Maharashtra, is also its educational capital. Known as the Queen of Deccan, it is situated about 160 km South of Mumbai; the commercial capital of the country. Known for its quality educational institutions; it attracts students from all across India and also from different parts of the world. Its picturesque natural surroundings, pristine weather conditions and cosmopolitan ethos are the major attractions.

Our Campus Recruiters